Henderson and Rice Get Their Due Print E-mail
Written by Fred Mitchell   
Monday, 12 January 2009

Speed and power.

Those are the respective qualities Rickey Henderson and Jim Rice flaunted during their dynamic careers.


Henderson and Rice are the two newest members of baseball's Hall of Fame after the results of the balloting were announced Monday. Needing at least 75 percent of the votes from the members of the Baseball Writers Association of America, Henderson- the all-time stolen base leader- garnered an astounding 94.8 percent. It was Henderson's first year on the ballot.


Rice, in the 15th and last year on the writers' ballot, attracted 76.4 percent of the vote to make it to the Hall of Fame. Enshrinement ceremonies will be held July 26 in Cooperstown, N.Y.


Rice belted 382 career homers over 16 seasons as the left fielder of the Boston Red Sox. He had an impressive .298 career batting average.


Henderson played a remarkable 25 seasons for nine different teams. He stole 1,406 bases and scored 2,295 runs. He is second all-time in walks with 2,190. Henderson was named to 10 All-Star teams and was the 1990 American League Most Valuable Player with the Oakland A's, where he won a World Series title in 1989.


Andre Dawson, who hit 438 career homers and won 8 Gold Gloves as an outfielder with the Expos, Cubs, Red Sox and Marlins, finished third in the balloting with 67 percent. Bert Blyleven was next with 62.7 percent.



< Prev   Next >